Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Inspirational Book Nick Vujicic, April 16, 2011 ©  Jackie Paulson

Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life (Hardcover)

I read Life without Limits by Nick Vujicic in 2011, below is my review at that time.
I read this book in two days (288) pages total. I am an avid reader and enjoy this hobby more than anything else in my life.  This book was published in 2010 and if it were not for “I BLOG FOR BOOKS” I would not have learned to stand up for what I believe in and start taking action now. This book was published in the USA by Doubleday Religion, an imprint of the Crown Publishing Group, a division of Random House, Inc., N.Y.

Life without Limits should also be Life without Limbs. Nick Vujicic was born with no hands or feet. I had so many questions when I read his book. He is 27 years old in 2010 when this book was published. He was raised in a Christian home and has a younger brother (Aaron) and (Michelle) his sister. His goal in writing this book is to encourage others to overcome challenges and hardships so that they can “find your own purpose.” Nick over came so many obstacles with his (disability) which make us think and realize that to discover who we are meant to be and what we can share of our gifts to benefit others by his true story of overcoming the odds.

On page 19 I quote, “You have to stretch beyond where you are to reach where you want to be.”

Nick was born on 12/4/1982 and the nurse told his parents he had a medical condition called “Phocamelia.” Nicks mother happened to be a nurse thus understood what the term meant. His father was in shock and denial the day Nick was born. Both parents were from former Yugoslavia which is called Serbia today (4/15/2011).

What encouraged me the most is the way he wrote about all of his life experiences and challenges he had to overcome. He had to learn not to depend only on his family to do things for him. He had a desire to learn to be independent of his family as he did not want that burden on them. When I think of all of the challenges and teenage struggles I went through and thought they were a big deal, I can see now that Nick’s struggles were far more challenging to overcome. It made me look back on my life and see that I was a typical American Teenager who wished this book was out back when I was in High School.  At the age of 24, Nick attended a California church for a speaking engagement and met one other newborn baby that day who was just like he was; born without limbs. That said, Nick is a public speaker, a Christian, and travels around the world to help others understand that we are all God`s Creation. This is what led Nick to realize his life passion to public speaking and helping others was his Life Mission given by God.

He finally met one other person “just like him” and he realized, “when I was growing up I had no one who shared my situation who could help guide me, but now (Daniel) has someone. I can help him. My parents can help his parents. He does not have to go through what I went through, Perhaps I can spare him some of the pain that I had to endure.”  (PAGE: 24).

The genre for this book is very inspirational, guiding, spiritual, and very thought provoking.

Unstoppable by Nick Vujicic © 2012 written by Jackie Paulson (BOOK #2)

This is the second book Nick has published.  I want to thank Blogging for books for a free copy for my review. Vujicic is pronounced Voo~yi~chich).   His disability did not stop him from enjoying adventures, fulfilling and meaningful career, and loving relationships.  His goal is to share with you the unstoppable power of faith in action that has helped him create his own good life.

Nick wrote this book as he was so inspired by people who asked him for advice and guidance in dealing with challenges in their own lives.  The chapters cover topics that were asked of him the most and include:

  • Personal crises
  • Relationship issues
  • Career and job challenges
  • Health and disability concerns
  • Self destructive thoughts, emotions and addictions
  • Bullying, persecution, cruelty, and intolerance
  • Dealing with matters beyond our control
  • How to reach out and serve others
  • Finding balance in body, mind, heart and spirit

 

Nicks desire is to help you and inspire you to overcome whatever challenges you face.

I love the photos from years ago until now in the middle of the book too.  What a personal touch! I want to include in my review for my blog the Q & A below:

Questions &Answers: With Author Nick Vujicic Taken from Amazon.com

You came to Christ at a young age; have you ever felt despondent enough (as a Christian) to consider taking your own life?

I gave my life to Jesus at age fifteen when I read in the Bible that Jesus knew that the works of God would be displayed through the blind man in John 9. However, before having faith in Jesus, I was angry at God and blamed Him for my lack of limbs and the fact He didn’t seem to care. I thought He’d forgotten me or wasn’t real at all was because He didn’t answer me when I asked with much faith for limbs miraculously. Neither did He answer me when I asked why He had done this. Because of being bullied at school, experiencing a lot of negative attention, feeling like I was a burden to my parents, and not seeing a bright future, I attempted to commit suicide by drowning myself in a bath tub. As I was in the process, the thought of leaving my parents with much grief helped me to not go through with the suicide. It was by God’s grace that I am still here, and I can hear the words ring true in Jeremiah 29: 11-14.

What advice can you offer to other people who are mentally or physically disabled, and feel like their life is “over” and worthless?

Any negative lies and thoughts that come in are not from God if the statements are not in-sync with the Word, the heart of God. Every day, we must pray that the Lord guards our hearts and minds as we battle with principalities and powers of darkness. We have the truth. Remind yourself of the truth of your identity, purpose and destiny in Christ. Put on the full armor of God. Ask God for the gift of faith to believe every loving word of the Bible and the discipline to have time in worship or prayer or reading of the Scriptures to further the growth of your faith. Take one day at a time. We all have a fear of being lonely. Some have been abandoned, but Jesus is with you. Trust Him, and if you don’t know Him, seek Him.

Describe an average day for Nick? How long it takes to get ready in the mornings?

As a teenager, I wanted to prove to myself that I could be independent, and it would take me an hour to get ready, brush my teeth, go to the restroom, shower and dress myself. These days I like to focus on what gives me more joy and save my energy for the things that are truly rewarding after proving to myself that I could be independent. So, I have caregivers who take care of me and get me ready especially when traveling.

How did you meet your wife?

My wife Kanae and I fell in love at the top of a Bell Tower in McKinney, Texas at the “Adriatica.” The fully story is in my book, but it was at a night where I only spoke to 16 people, and we watched the Butterfly Circus. I shared about the ministry’s goals and heart in reaching the world. Fireworks were in our minds and hearts when our eyes connected that night… and for the rest of the story, get the book.

What qualities or characteristics attracted you to her? Do you plan to have children soon?

She is my best friend, and I adore her. She has unimaginable grace, love, patience and meekness. She is such a focused and gentle giver. We are hoping to have children in a few years, but you never know what the Lord wants.

Where do you live/attend church?

With living in Southern California but traveling quite a lot over the years, it has been difficult to find a home church that we truly see our children growing up in long term. But we genuinely enjoy the fellowship of the Apostolic Christian Church in Pasadena and love their hearts in valuing the family-style congregation.

You minister around the world to children, churches and businessmen. What message is on your heart at the moment?

In such a world and generation, there is so much information and entertainment and vicious pressure to be someone you’re not yet or to get something you don’t have yet. The message to preach is the truth. To know our true worth, knowing that we are all loved, and we are here for a greater purpose.

Tell us about your book – what inspired you to write it, what do you hope it will achieve, who is it for?

Before writing Unstoppable, I personally went through two major life-changing experiences that I learnt so much in and through. I went through a personal crisis in December 2010. Then I met my wife and started courting her at the end of 2010. That’s why I wrote Unstoppable. I love how God lets us go through difficult challenges to help each other and encourage one another. That’s what family is for. I also speak, write, sing on YouTube “Something More” and act in the short film “Butterfly Circus.” I want to communicate a message of hope and love that continues to evolve as I walk closer to Jesus.

NICK VUJICIC is a motivational speaker and the director of the nonprofit organization, Life Without Limbs. Nick has become a great inspiration to people around the world, regularly speaking to large crowds about overcoming obstacles and achieving dreams. A longtime resident of Australia, he now lives in southern California with his wife, Kanae. Visit his website at www dot LifeWithoutLimb dot org.

I could say so much more!

 

