Tags

, , , , , , , ,

 

Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

Reviewed by Jackie Paulson (July 2012)

I have to admit that I have had this book on my shelves for awhile and finally got down to reading it.  I have only gotten great reviews from others and I am so glad I read it.

The main characters are Mitch Albom and his professor Morrie Schwartz.   The day of graduation Mitch handed this teacher a gift which was a brief case.  Later in life Mitch finds his professor, after he sees his professor on television (Nightline).  Mitch meets with his professor each Tuesday to visit his professor to talk.  The rest of this book is the 14 Tuesdays and their conversations before death takes Morrie to heaven.

The topics they covered in his 14 Tuesdays cover:

acceptance,

communication,

love,

values,

openness,

and happiness.

 

Mitch Albom expressed the importance of forging a culture of one’s own to transcend the tyranny of popular culture, suggesting that the media are preoccupied with death, hatred, violence and depression. Quoting his favorite poet, W. H. Auden, Schwartz insists we must “love each other or perish”.

I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would.  It was very encouraging to see how Morrie dealt with his disease and death.  I was touched that Mitch took the Tuesdays to be with his old professor and to endure their talks until his last breathe took place.

© 2012

 

 

