Firestorm by Lisa Tawn Bergren

This is a new favorite author of mine as I have just finished her 6th book of a series of Lisa Bergren.  I have to say that I am fascinated with forest fires and fires in general.  I have so much respect for fireman and the 9-1-1 hero’s that this book was very refreshing for me to read.  This book has action, adventure, drama and romance which all make for a complete story filled with words that only need to be read to lift ones soul.

Most of the reviews have already covered what I want to say but I wanted to share mine with the rest of the world as well.

Other books include;

  1. Refuge
  2. Torchlight
  3. Pathways
  4. Treasure
  5. Chosen
  6. Firestorm

Lisa recommends reading Fire Line: Summer Battles of the West by Michael Thoele (Fulcrum) to learn more about fires and her research for this wonderful book.

The main characters are Reyne Oldre (Firefighter) and Logan McCabe (smokejumper)

The fire named “Oxbow” was named after the reservoir near where the fire they all battled started.   The fire slowly eating away at summer dried Idaho grasses and scrubby pines, one hill after another.  It had traipsed on that way for days, the flames rising no higher than two feet.  Now the wind was slowly pushing it downhill toward them. It was their job to stop its descent into a small suburb outside of Boise.

When Reyne was younger her parents did not want her to be out in the summer fire lines after school, but Reyne loved it.  Now Reyne was a graduate student studying fire science in the fall, winter, and spring.  This is what she loved and where she belonged.  This was what she wanted to do, “chasing the dragon.”

The best part of the book is when Reyne tells the whole story to Logan when the fire kills four of her team;

  • Leanne
  • Frankie
  • Allen
  • Janice

Reyne then decided to develop a pocket weather kit project that needed funding and when she presents it Logan (at first did not like her project), but in the end you will love the surprise.

The story goes on about the romance between Reyne and Logan and I kept thinking to myself, awe “I wish I had that.”

Now that I have read this book I want to read the entire collection and so will you!

© 2012 Jackie Paulson

 

 

